Maybe we don’t work as hard as you think we do

My mum told me she was very impressed with my partner and I for our discipline in both finding time to study: “I’d just spend those two hours sharpening pencils and colouring in study charts!”. It made me realise that people must think we’re more industrious than we are! I get a few hours here and there, he has a few hours here and there, but nobody gets down to work straight away when they sit at their desk, we are human! Yesterday morning (on ‘his’ study day) my partner spent ages researching TV stands for our new TV. I almost always open all my tabs/documents I’ll need for the day (currently: draft chapters, chapter abstracts, timeline, email) and then take a good while having a read of my Twitter feed. We pencil in time every week on our shared calendar for our respective studying, but sometimes that time needs to include some ‘me’ time as we get hardly any otherwise. I’m constantly battling to stay disciplined and do some reading or writing every single day. I let myself down a lot as some days I can’t manage it, especially after a long day of playgroups and soft play!

2 thoughts on “Maybe we don’t work as hard as you think we do

  1. Sounds like you have a good system going, I am going to try and copy it for my family too. Currently we share calendars just so we know when one is free so adding dedicated study days will be an upgrade to our system. I have enjoyed browsing your blog.

    • Thank you 🙂 as you might imagine, the plan doesn’t always go to plan(!), but on the whole we try and make sure we all have time.

Leave a Reply

